Wednesday, June 20, 2007


Shree Hari:

Jyestha Shukla Shashthi, Vikram Samvat 2064, Budhvar
20th June, 2007, Wednesday

A man has desires of four types -
- Artha (Wealth); Dharma (Righteousness), "Kaama" (Passion) and Moksha (Salvation).

Artha is achievement of material wealth and prosperity and reputation.

Dharma includes acts of sacrifice, penance, charity, fasting and pilgrimage, performed with or without desire for their fruit.

Kaama is mundane pleasures that result from sound, touch (pleasure born of contact), form (pleasure derived from seeing beautiful objects), taste (pleasure from tasting delicious things), smell (pleasure through beautiful fragrances, flowers etc), honor, praise and comfort (pleasure from idleness, laziness, and comforts) .

Moksha (salvation) is Self Realization, Benediction, Salvation, and God Realization.

Of these four, wealth and righteousness enhance each other. But if both are utilized to satisfy desires, then after satisfying the desire, both wealth and righteousness perish. Desire devours both of these. Therefore Lord declares in the Gita that "Desires are insatiable" and He asks Arjuna to kill this enemy i.e. Desire (Gita 3: 37-43).

From "The Bhagavad Gita - Sadhak Sanjivani" in English pg 1867 by Swami Ramsukhdasji.

Ram Ram


Post a Comment

<< Home